Make your own free website on


Umra (sometimes referred to as The Lesser Pilgrimage) consists of the performance of a set of devotional rites in the Masjid ul Haram in Makkah. These rites also form an integral part of Haj, and were prescribed by Allah and Rasool Allah (pbuh). Umra may be performed at any time of the year and as many times as you may wish.

The following are the essential elements of Umra:

  1. Changing into Ihram at Meeqat, followed by the pronouncement of the intention (niyyah) to perform Umra and frequent recital of the Talbiyah thereafter.
  2. Tawaaf ul Umra of the Qaaba followed by two rakah salat us sunnah and partaking of the waters of Zam-Zam.
  3. Performance of Sai.
  4. Halq or Taqseer, followed by changing into street clothes.
This will complete your Umra.

Home Page